Skip to main content

Curriculum » Assessment


Beginning in spring 2012, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR™) will replace the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS). The STAAR program at grades 3–8 will assess the same subjects and grades that are currently assessed on TAKS. These are:
3rd Grade - Reading and Math
4th Grade - Reading, Math, and Writing
5th Grade - Reading, Math, and Science
6th Grade - Reading and Math

7th Grade - Reading, Writing, Math

8th Grade - Reading, Math, Science, Social Studies


In addition to district level benchmark exams, students at various grade levels will take other assessments.
Prekinder through 3rd - iStation
3rd through 8th - LEA Assessment, Think Through Math, and Formative Mini Assessments in all content areas



TEKs Resource System
TCMPC is our scope and sequence framework and is a comprehensive, customizable, user-friendly curriculum management system built on the most current research-based practices in the field. Its primary focus is to impact instructional practices in the classroom to improve student performance.